To the “man” who walked away from my daughter..

A lot of people have asked me about Chloe’s biological father and I’m more than open with the subject.. Erick and I have talked about this many times and how we will introduce the idea to Chloe about how she came into the world.. We are going to keep it a topic of common discussion. She will not find out in some letter years later, or think it was kept a secret. We are going to be honest with her about it. Any questions, concerns or comments she may have in the future. I think it is important for her to know the cultures behind who she is and why she looks the way she does, different than myself or Erick. I think it’s important to be open with her about it from a young age. I KNOW she will always look at Erick as her father, because he is. I KNOW she will be grateful for the life we have provided her with, together. I have a knot in my stomach thinking that Chloe will question it all at some point, I’m trying to brace myself for the day.. The day when she wonders why someone would leave her, why someone wouldn’t want to be a parent and what she did wrong. My answer will be “Absolutely nothing. You did nothing wrong. God gave us the life we are dealt and it will all make sense one day”. 

To the “man” who walked away from my daughter, 

Thank you! Thank you for giving me the best blessing I could ever imagine, even if you didn’t think so at the time. Thank you for leaving, thank you for choosing to take yourself out of her life.. She doesn’t need someone who is a part time parent, or someone who is questionable about her existence. She doesn’t need someone who isn’t going to stick around and have her best interest at heart. She doesn’t need someone who doesn’t love her. I am twice the parent you would have ever been to her, and love her ten times more than you can comprehend. I am enough parent for the both of us.  One day she will wonder about you and I will only tell her good things because I will not ruin her idea of what you might be. If she wants to find out on her own, that’s her choice.. She may not even want to meet you, and I’ll still be okay with that. When I look at her I don’t see you, I see me. I see a human that I created, grew and raised. I see a wonderful baby, girl, and woman. I see all she will aspire to be and how much she has changed me for the better. I see someone who doesn’t need you. I see all her potential in life and who she will turn out to be. Honest, compassionate, funny, wise, humble, and responsible. The exact opposite of you. I see someone who learns from your mistakes and for that I am thankful. I am not resentful towards you, I am grateful. I have the best daughter in the world thanks to you. And thanks to you, I don’t have to share her. I don’t have to worry about what you guys are doing on your time.. If she is being fed, loved or ignored. I don’t have to worry about if your leaving her with someone to go smoke weed or hangout with your friends. I don’t have to miss her on any holidays because we are joined at the hip. I don’t have to miss any birthdays because I get them all! I am beyond blessed, while you think she is a burden. She may be nothing to you, but to me she is EVERYTHING! I have a wonderful family, a man that loves me & his daughter. We are expecting another and our family will only grow from there. So thank you for (at the time) keeping me in the mindset that I could be a single mother & made the right choice in keeping her in every aspect. I don’t know what my life would be if I didn’t meet you, get pregnant years later and get left with a baby growing in my stomach. The best bumps in the road lead to the best life I could imagine. So once again, thank you for knowing you were too childish and selfish to be her father, she will never be the one who missed out, you will be. 

One thought on “To the “man” who walked away from my daughter..

Leave a Reply

